Leading Experts To Guide Fishermans Bend Planning

Detailed planning work for Fishermans Bend is on track with Minister for Planning Richard Wynne appointing an eleven-strong team of experts and community representatives to his Ministerial Advisory Committee.

Mr Wynne called for applications to the committee after announcing the urban renewal area would undergo a detailed planning overhaul. More than 100 expressions of interest were received.

Recast plans will cover five distinct neighbourhoods totalling more than 450 hectares of land, making Fishermans Bend the nation’s largest urban renewal opportunity.

Public administration leader Meredith Sussex will chair the committee, which also includes City of Melbourne Lord Mayor Robert Doyle, City of Port Phillip Mayor Amanda Stevens, and a panel of leading experts and community representatives:

  • Lucinda Hartley – urban renewal, design and community engagement expert
  • Michelle Howard – social infrastructure, strategic and statutory planning expert
  • Eric Keys – integrated transport planning expert
  • Rob McGauran – architecture, urban design and housing expert
  • Tania Quick – business, local industry and land development expert
  • Janet Bolitho – community representative and former mayor
  • Helen Halliday – community representative, former councillor and Fishermans Bend Network member
  • Phil Spender – community representative and local businessman.

The Andrews Labor Government will work with locals every step of the way, with an open and inclusive community consultation.

The first stage of strategic planning is expected to be finished by the first quarter of 2016 and the recast precinct plans will be publically available for comment in the second half of 2016.

Source: News Release, Victorian Government, 21 July, 2015


More articles

Want to stay ahead of the rest?

Subscribe to our monthly newsletter: all the major property news, research, insights, strategies and investor stories in our monthly newsletter.

Contact us
Employment Enquiry
.docx,.rtf,.doc,.pdf fiel extensions are only allowed.
.docx,.rtf,.doc,.pdf fiel extensions are only allowed.